CHANGING LIVES SINCE 1989

support, education, empowerment, development

LEAVE THIS SITE

facebook

twitter

instagram

 

MENU menu

Close close menu

ONLINE SAFETY

Covering your tracks online is important, especially if you are concerned that someone finds out  you have visited our website or contacted us for support.  Most internet browsers (Google, Chrome, Safari, Yahoo, Mozilla etc) will save certain information building up a "history" of all your online activities including browsing websites/images and making word searches. 

 

WARNING: There is no way to ensure all your online movements are covered. The following information can help to cover your tracks but the only way to truly ensure no one else is accessing your information is to use a different computer. You could use a friend's computer who you trust, a library, internet café or a work computer.

 

Use the LEAVE THIS SITE button on our website 

The green LEAVE THIS SITE  button on the top right hand side of our website will quickly hide the page your are browsing but you will still need to delete your history and activate Private Browsing to fully cover your tracks.

 

Please click on the information below for tips on covering your tracks online, when you visit our website, contact us via email or when you use social media.

 

 

 Before emailing us or anyone about your situation or if you want   your abuser not to know who you're emailing, ensure you are in a        safe position to receive a response. The best way to ensure that no    one can access your emails is to set up a brand new email account    in a different name and keep details secret. Read more

 

 

 

 Private Browsing stops websites from saving data about you. Your   history will also be deleted with Private Browsing when you close   the window. You can activate Private Browsing in the tools bar when   opening a new window. Remember to only browse in this private   window and close the window when finished. Read more 

 

 

 

 Abusers use passwords to access all your online activity, either   because they know your password or because they've guessed it.

To protect your password Read more

 

 

 

 

 

 Spyware is malicious software that anyone who has access to

your phone can install cheaply and easily on your computer

without you knowing. Read more

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Social media networks (eg Twitter, Facebook, Instagram etc)

are not secure and your friends can easily, and unknowingly,

share information about you that can help an abuser track you

down. Everything you and others post can be a trigger to

an abuser. Read more

 

 

I love this sanctuary: A place to confide, overcome challenges and grow!


What is online abuse 

 

If you've experienced any of the following please follow our online safety tips on this page. This is what online abuse may look like: 

 

1. Your abuser is looking at your online activity on your devices. 

 

2. You’ve received abusive messages on text/email or you have started to receive unwanted emails.

 

3. Someone has written abusive things about you online. 

 

4. Someone knows information about you that you haven't shared with anyone. 

 

5. Someone knows your location even though you haven't told them where you are.

 

6. Your passwords don't work or they keep changing.

 

7. There are fake profiles in your name 

 

8. People have received fake emails 'from you' 

 

9. Things have been ordered on-line in your name without your permission.